Breeding for the first time?

• Hi all,

I have a tri-colored bitch that I want to breed this season. She is going to be three in November. I am relatively new to the breed, we've had her for a little over a year, and I have never bred a dog before. I have been reading "rules" and "requirements" wherever I can find them, but can anyone give me a quick summary of what's required for a successful breeding? I am not breeding show dogs, I have 4 people who are very much in love with her, and want a puppy from her, and we are probably going to keep a puppy too. Any suggestions or advices?

Thanks in advance.

• Have you done any health testing on her? The minimum recommended testing for basenjis is OFA x-rays for hip dysplasia, CERF exam by a certified veterinary opthamalogist, OFA thyroid panel, and DNA Marker Test for Fanconi.

http://www.caninehealthinfo.org/brdreqs.html?breed=BJ

• She is Fanconi clear and her eyes are fine. The previous owner did those tests. I might want to re-do all the tests though. Does any veterinarian do those tests? Or at least hip dysplasia, thyroid and CERF?

• If the DNA Marker test was run, you should be able to verify that on the OFA website, http://www.offa.org All marker tests must be in the OFA database so if her results are not there then she was not tested using the DNA Marker test. If she had a registered CERF exam that will also show up on her OFA page.

CERF exams must be redone yearly since PRA is a late onset disease so will only be detected if eye exams are done on a regular basis. CERF exams can only be done by a certified veterinary opthamologist. Hip x-rays and thyroid testing should be able to be done at your vet's office but you must make sure that the thyroid test is sent to an OFA approved lab with the OFA form.

• The DNA Marker test for Fanconi can be ordered from the OFA website, https://secure.offa.org/cart.html